Board of Officers


YAO Ke, China

Prof. Yao Ke is the professor and chief of Eye Institute of Zhejiang University, Eye Center of Second Affiliated Hospital of Zhejiang University School of Medicine and Zhejiang University Eye Hospital, President of the Chinese Ophthalmological Society and CSCRS, President-Elect of APACRS, and a member of AOI. Prof. Yao was a pioneer and promoter of modern cataract surgeries on the Chinese mainland. He has trained thousands of cataract surgeons throughout the country. He has published 486 clinical and scientific papers with 267 published in peer-reviewed international journals. He has received numerous awards, including the National Award of Science (three times), the ICO Mark Tso Golden Apple Award, the Alfred-Vogt Prize of Switzerland, the APACRS Gold Award, and the APACRS ACE Award.

Prof. Yao is committed and enthusiastic about public health, especially the prevention of blindness. In 1996, he founded the first Mobile Eye Hospital in China which reached out to rural regions including Tibet, Inner Mongolia, and more than 10 provinces, providing free cataract surgeries for 13,000 indigent patients. During his presidency of the COS and CSCRS, under his leadership and advocacy, Chinese ophthalmic medical teams performed nearly 315,000 welfare cataract surgeries in the Chinese mainland and in regions of Asia, Africa, and small island countries in Oceania.

« Back to Board of Officers